Executive board nominations

Written on May 16, 2017

Several CPAs from across Ohio are expected to join The Ohio Society of CPAs’ Executive Board in June to provide their vision and support in shaping strategic priorities for the Society and profession.

The Nominating Committee announced the slate of candidates to fill terms on the board. They represent broad experience in sectors across the state.

The committee unanimously recommended John Venturella, CPA, J.D., as OSCPA's 2017-2018 chair-elect candidate, along with five nominees for officer and director positions. If approved by the membership, Venturella will serve as chair for the 2018-2019 fiscal year and following that as past chair.

The committee has recommended that current Board Member Owen Wyss, CPA, become Vice Chair, Finance. He will serve until 2018. Three nominees for director will serve three-year terms from 2017 to 2020; the fourth will serve a one-year term, from 2017 to 2018.

Pending election, the new board members will begin their terms of service June 14 following OSCPA’s annual meeting which will be a first ever webcast event. At that time, Sandra Richtermeyer, CPA, Ph.D., will become Chair of the Executive Board. William (Bill) Chorba III, CPA, CGMA will become past chair.

John Venturella, CPA, J.D.,
Shareholder, Clark, Schaefer Hackett & Co.

Venturella, a current member of the Executive Board, looks forward to stepping into the Chair-Elect role.

“It’s an exciting time to be in our profession and to serve an organization that is making an impact,” said Venturella. "I’ve been impressed with how OSCPA is advancing the state of business through initiatives in the diversity and inclusion arena, and by working with state legislators to shape Ohio’s future tax climate.”

Venturella specializes in federal, state and local tax at Clark, Schaefer Hackett & Co, as an adviser to businesses ranging from small to multi-national corporations and closely or family-held companies. He also provides individual counsel for a variety of tax situations and succession planning. He is currently serving his second term on OSCPA’s Executive Board and is a member of the Diversity + Inclusion Task Force. Previously he was on the Board Succession Planning Task Force and the Finance Committee. He serves on the Advisory Board for US Bank Butler County.

Vice Chair, Finance
Owen Wyss, CPA
Financial Controller,
Thompson Concrete Ltd.

Wyss honed his leadership skills providing assurance and financial advisory services to public and private companies and nonprofit organizations. He has been active with OSCPA throughout his career with young CPA groups and chaired the Young CPA Statewide Leadership Board before joining the Executive Board in 2014. He is Treasurer for JDRF, Mid-Ohio Branch, and president of The Rotaract Club of Columbus, Rotary International’s community for young adults.

Director Nominees

Libby Cullins, CPA, M.B.A.
Vice President andController, JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Nominated as: Director, three-year term

Cullins is vice president and controller for the Corporate and JPMC Foundation lines of business at Chase.

Previously, she served with the Chase Consumer & Community Banking (CCB) Technology lines of business. In addition to reporting and financial analysis responsibilities, Cullins fosters global business partnerships with internal and external customers in North America, Europe and Asia. She has helped define content topics for OSCPA continuing education events and is a Steering Committee member of Columbus W.I.F. (Women in Finance), promoting networking and diversity in the workplace.

Crystal Faulkner, CPA,
Partner, Mountjoy Chilton Medley

Nominated as: Director, three-year term

Faulkner is a long-standing member of OSCPA who is active in public service in Greater Cincinnati. Her professional focus areas are business and tax advisory, strategic planning, fraud and forensics, succession planning and wealth management. She is founder of the popular Accounting for Kids, Inc. organization which each year provides financial literacy education to hundreds of Cincinnati elementary students. Faulkner has served on OSCPA’s Executive Board previously, as well as the Public Relations and Government Relations advisory councils and The Ohio CPA Foundation Centennial Campaign Steering Committee. She is a member of the Ohio Small Business Advisory Council, Ohio Business Gateway Steering Committee and sits on the boards of Hamilton County Development Center and University of Cincinnati Economic Center.

Paul Nungester, CPA, CGMA
Senior Vice President and Controller, Welltower Inc.

Nominated as: Director, three-year term

Nungester has a background in public accounting auditing and currently oversees all financial reporting and accounting for Welltower, a global company. He also provides transactional support on capital markets and investments/dispositions activities. He previously has served on OSCPA’s Membership Services Advisory Council and on the Professional Ethics Committee. He has been active with the Erie Shores Council of Boy Scouts of America, the West Side Montessori Center and ProMedica Physician and Continuum Services.

Lori Kaiser, CPA
CEO, Kaiser Consulting LLC

Nominated as: Director, one-year term

Kaiser brings strategic consulting and business startup experience to her role as an OSCPA board member. She leads Kaiser Consulting, a professional services firm providing Fortune 500 companies with accounting, finance and IT consulting solutions through a unique, flexible staffing business model. Kaiser Consulting was named a Columbus “Best Place to Work’ in 2015 and a Progressive Organization by Smart Business magazine.

Kaiser previously worked in public accounting and in corporate industry.

She was a member of the OSCPA Women’s Initiatives Committee, the Board of the National Association of Women Business Owners, and serves on the advisory boards of the Center for Business Leadership and the Accounting Department of Miami University. She is Treasurer of the Women’s Fund of Central Ohio and the Small Business Council of the Columbus Chamber of Commerce. Recently, she became an adjunct professor in the MBA program at The Ohio State University Fisher College of Business.

In accordance with the Society’s bylaws, publication of the Nominating Committee report constitutes notification to the membership of the recommended slate of candidates for the 2017- 2018 Executive Board. The election process stated in the bylaws requires action by the Executive Board to accept the Nominating Committee report, and subsequent presentation to the membership in a publication of the Society. The report was first published in CPA Takeaways on March 16, 2017. The bylaws specify the process by which alternate names may be recommended by the membership. However, if no alternate candidates are nominated within 30 days of the first date of publication, the candidates shall be considered to be elected.

Continuing Board Members

• Marie A. Brilmyer, CPA, M.Acc. Audit Director, Cohen & Company
• Paul Davison, CPA, Partner, BDO USA, LLP
• Michael J. Elliott, CPA, Principal, Dittrick CPA
• Darlene E. Finzer, CPA, QKA, CSA Principal, Director of Benefit Plan Audit Services, Rea & Associates, Inc.
• Donald L. Mellott, Jr., CPA, Managing Partner, Mellott & Mellott PLL
• Jamie Menges, CPA, CFP®, Partner, PDS Planning
• Russell J. Meyer, CPA, CMA, CFO, White Castle System, Inc.

Leave a comment